• Euro
  • Dollar
  • Pound


Created in 1832 and installed in 1835, the Municipality of Santana was extinguished by Decree of December 10, 1867, not being executed and re-established shortly thereafter. This momentary extinction of the municipality meant that the parishes of Faial and São Roque do Faial were transferred to the municipality of Machico and the parishes of Arco de São Jorge and São Jorge to the municipality of São Vicente. administrative area in which the municipality of Santana was created in 1832, Luís Augusto Acciaioli was appointed provider and administrator of this new municipality. The latter, who was also Machico's supplier, took over in Santana for 51 years.

Initially, the municipality of Santana consisted of the parishes of Arco de São Jorge, São Jorge, Santana, Faial, São Roque do Faial and Porto da Cruz. The last parish mentioned was detached from the municipality of Santana by Decree of 15 October 1852 and annexed to the municipality of Machico. On July 5, 1955, Decree No. 40.221 established the current limits of the municipality of Santana.

More recently, on January 1, 2001, Santana was elevated to the category of city, and is therefore considered the first city of the 21st century.

São Vicente

Where we are

Avenida Arriaga, 75 - 1º Andar, Sala 105

9000-064 Funchal

Madeira - Portugal


+351 968 954 740

+351 291 221 664

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


© 2021 First4You - Real Estate, Lda. - AMI: 12058

Powered by    Proppy CRM